The Pendleton Panther

New Quarters For 2010

Posted on: March 24, 2010

New 2010 Quarter Program Designs

The US Mint recently added a new section to their website with some information about the upcoming quarter series slated to begin in 2010. The designs will feature National Parks or National Sites from each of the 50 US States, 5 US Territories, and the District of Columbia.  The designs for the coins will be presented in the order they were first designated as national landmarks by the federal government.  The first quarter in the series will be the Hot Springs National Park in Arkansas.  It will be released on April 19th followed by four additional coins in 2010.  The other 51 coins will roll out periodically through the year 2021 and Alabama’s Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site will complete the series.  On December 23, 2008, Americas Beautiful national parks Quarter Dollar Coin Act was signed.  Now the US Mint has a plan and will begin the series next month.  Obviously the portrait of George Washington will remain on the front of the coin, but the back will be different for the “New 2010 Quarter Program”.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s



%d bloggers like this: