The Pendleton Panther

Watson Wins Season-Opening Mitsubishi

Posted on: January 25, 2010

Tom Watson secured his 13th Champions Tour title last weekend by sinking a four footer to post a 65 the final day.  Watson had memories of the painful loss at the British Open while standing over his final putt. “I was thinking, ‘Don’t make a stroke like I made at Turnberry,'” Watson said. “‘Make a good stroke like I thought I was going to do at Turnberry and didn’t do. … I can make this.'”  60 year old Watson finished 22 under par to become the 13th oldest person to win on the Champions Tour.   For the Mitsubishi victory Tom Watson took home $315,000 and a trophy.  The win was Watson’s first official win since the 2008 Liberty Mutual Legends of Golf when he teamed up with Andy North. “This is what I live for in my career — to do what I did today,” Watson stated. “I don’t think I’ll have too many more, but I had this one.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

