The Pendleton Panther

World Cup Hosts and Their Group

Posted on: December 15, 2009

South Africa are the hosts for the biggest event on this planet, the Soccer World Cup next year. When the groups get drawn, there are 4 pools that are made before the groups get decided. The categories are based on the ability of the teams, so the best teams will go in Pool A and the worst in Pool D. This is based on qualifying performances.  As South Africa were automatically qualified, they were placed in Pool A.  So for South African hopefuls this was great news, as it meant we could end up in a group without any powerhouses or strong contenders.  The problem is that Portugal and France, both took their qualifying to the very end, resulting in them being placed in Pool D.  And both teams are considered superpowers in the soccer world.  When the draw was done, South Africa didn’t get too lucky. They were drawn with France, Mexico and Uruguay.  Mexico is fairly decent, so now there is a battle amoing 3 teams to progress to the second round.  It won’t be easy to for South Africa to overcome both France AND Mexico.  We will have to wait and see.  The World Cup begins on the 11th of July 2010.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s



%d bloggers like this: