The Pendleton Panther

Ingram Wins Heisman

Posted on: December 13, 2009

Alabama running back was named the 2009 Heisman trophy winner.

Alabama sophomore running back Mark Ingram won the 2009 Heisman Trophy, awarded annually to college football’s most valuable player. In the closest vote in Heisman history, Ingram beat out Stanford’s Toby Gerhart by 28 points to capture the award Saturday night. They were followed by Colt McCoy, Ndamukong Suh, and Tim Tebow. Ingram rushed for a school-record 1,542 yards this season with an amazing 6.2 yards per carry. He is also the third consecutive sophomore to win the prestigious award and Alabama’s first Heisman winner. In his acceptance speech, Ingram became very emotional and thanked numerous people including his parents, coaches, support staff, trainers, and teachers. Ingram and the #1 ranked Crimson Tide are set to face McCoy and the #2 ranked Texas Longhorns on January 7 for the Rose Bowl.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s



%d bloggers like this: