The Pendleton Panther

Elton John wants to adopt Ukrainian child

Posted on: September 21, 2009

Elton-John-001 Elton John has announced that he wants to adopt a 14-month-old boy from an orphanage in Ukraine who has “stolen his heart”. John, 62, performed Circle of Life for the children – most of whom had lost their parents to Aids – during a visit to the country with his Aids foundation. At a press conference, he and partner David Furnish, 46, were asked whether they thought of adopting and John announced he would like to adopt one of the children, Lev, He said: “David and I have always talked about adoption, David always wanted to adopt a child and I always said ‘no’ because I am 62 and I think because of the travelling I do and the life I have, maybe it wouldn’t be fair for the child.  But having seen Lev today, I would love to adopt him. I don’t know how we do that but he has stolen my heart. And he has stolen David’s heart and it would be wonderful if we can have a home. I’ve changed my mind today.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

