The Pendleton Panther

Baby Names

Posted on: November 19, 2008

baby-80513I know I’m a little young(hopefully) but for some reason I’ve been thinking about baby names. In the past, parents came up with names such as Barbara, Jean, Vivian, Ethelle, and Marsha; or for boys Stanley, Harold, Raymond, Eugene, and Edward. As time progressed, the traditional names have modernized, and the top baby names of 2007 include Sophia, Emma, Caitlin, Hayley and Madison; and for the boys, Aiden, Ethan, Jacob, Matthew, and Logan.  However, in this day and age, parents are coming up with all kinds of names for their children, whether or not they are ridiculous.  For example, Gweneth Paltrow’s baby is named Apple.  I’m not really sure what she was thinking, but well, whatever floats her boat right?  My favorite baby girl name (that I’ve already chosen for my own kid) is also not very traditional but I think it’s cute.  It also reflects a little bit of my personality, but at the same time allows her to be her own person.  I think that’s a good strategy for expecting mothers. Another good strategy, which you can see I used, is not to tell anyone your baby name because either they will try to steal it, or they will respond with something like “oh I knew someone named ______ in high school, she weighed 500 pounds and had no friends.”


Leave a comment


  • Aully Bukan: Thanks for share...
  • riskstar: Good information
  • Rob Dresser: Many people have a poor grasp of what this is about. At its core this is about advanced stage terminal illness and relieving those in that condition

Categories